What is the first Inspector Andy Horton crime novel?

Tide of Death is the first in the DI Andy Horton series. Tide of Death introduces Andy Horton who is back in CID after being suspended for eight months on a gross misconduct charge.

His marriage has broken up and he's living on board his small yacht in a marina in Portsmouth on the South Coast of England. Out running in the early morning of a foggy August Bank Holiday Monday he almost trips over the naked body of a man on the Portsmouth beach. Horton has a murder to solve and a point to prove, he is still a good cop.  Determined to clear his name and re-establish his reputation, Horton finds his personal problems sidelined as he sets out to find a ruthless killer.

Chosen by Amazon as the Best of Crime Fiction 2006

But you don't have to begin with the first in the Andy Horton series. The Inspector Andy Horton police procedural crime novels can be read in any order because each is a standalone mystery. In each DI Andy Horton (and there are now 13 in the series) there is a new crime for the flawed and rugged detective to investigate and there is also the drama of his unfolding personal life and his quest to discover the truth behind his mother's disappearance (Jennifer Horton) thirty years ago.

It can never be determined which book in the series a reader might buy or borrow from a library first so I need to weave in Andy Horton's back story and his personal quest, enough so that the new reader can pick it up but not too much so that it bores the reader who has read the Horton series from the beginning.  Some readers have told me that they've discovered Andy Horton in a later book in the series and then having done so have gone back to the beginning and read them in sequence.

"The Harley Davidson–riding, houseboat-dwelling Horton is a fascinating man to get to know, and his thoughtful approach to detection is a pleasure to read." Publishers Weekly

'Andy Horton is an especially good series hero, a likeable fellow with plenty of street smarts and the requisite personal baggage – an abrasive supervisor and an antagonistic soon-to-be ex-wife. Procedural fans who haven’t already read Rowson should be encouraged to do so in the strongest possible terms.’ Booklist, Starred Review

Lethal Waves is the latest to be published (2017)  So DI Andy Horton has come a long way since first appearing in Tide of Death in 2006.

The DI Andy Horton novels in order:

Tide of Death
Deadly Waters
The Suffocating Sea
Dead Man's Wharf
Blood on the Sand
Footsteps on the Shore
A Killing Coast
Death Lies Beneath
Death Surge
Shroud of Evil (2014)
Fatal Catch (2015)
Lethal Waves (2017)

The Inspector Andy Horton crime novels are available as paperbacks, e books, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo, as unabridged audio books and in large print.


If you've enjoyed reading my crime novels please do tell others, we'd also love for you to leave a short review or rating on Amazon as it all helps to introduce the novels to new readers.

Where to buy

Pauline Rowson's books USA

Pauline Rowson's books UK

From your local bookshop

Also available as an ebook and on Amazon Kindle, Kobo and for loan from UK, USA, Irish and Commonwealth libraries

No comments:

New 1950 set crime novel by Pauline Rowson to be published in 2019

I'm delighted to announce that Death in the Cove, a 1950 set crime novel is to be published in 2019. The historical crime novel, the fi...