The Inspector Andy Horton Police Procedural Crime Novels in order

|I'm often asked by readers if they need to read the Inspector Andy Horton crime novels in order.  The answer is no. They can be read in any order because in each novel there is a new investigation for the rugged and flawed DI Andy Horton to solve.  There is, however, a back story running through each of the crime novels particularly from number three, The Suffocating Sea, onwards and that is Andy's quest to discover the truth behind his mother's disappearance after she abandoned him as a child. But readers should be able to follow Andy's progress and revelations of his personal investigations no matter what number in the current series of thirteen they pick up.

Number 13 in the Inspector Andy Horton crime series

 "Nothing in this police procedural is as it first appears. The Harley Davidson–riding, boat-dwelling Horton is a fascinating man to get to know, and his thoughtful approach to detection is a pleasure to read." Publishers Weekly.

Number 12 in the Inspector Andy Horton crime series

"A great read for mystery lovers with plenty to keep you guessing until the last moment." Crime Book Club

Number 11 in the Inspector Andy Horton crime series

"A compelling protagonist and mounting suspense make the book hard to put down." Publishers Weekly

Many of the Inspector Andy Horton crime novels are available as audio books and in large print. They are all available as ebooks, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo and in paperback.   Inspector Andy Horton has come a long way since first appearing in Tide of Death in 2006.

In Tide of Death, Andy is back in CID after being suspended for eight months on a gross misconduct charge.  His marriage has broken up and he's living on board his yacht in a marina in Portsmouth on the South Coast of England. He has a murder to solve and is determined to clear his name and re-establish his reputation as a good cop and try and save his marriage, but is it too late?

Tide of Death, the first Inspector Andy Horton crime novel

In the third Inspector Andy Horton novel The Suffocating Sea, Horton discovers something about his mother's disappearance thirty years ago which sets  him on a mission to discover why she abandoned him at the age of ten, where she went and what subsequently happened to her.  This thread is followed  throughout the subsequent novels but if the reader picks up and reads the novels out of sequence he or she should be able to follow the thread of Andy's private investigation in each novel. 

The Suffocating Sea, number 3 in the Inspector Andy Horton series

In each novel there is  a new case for DI Andy Horton with plenty of action.  Horton is joined by Sergeant Cantelli and the Major Crime Team headed by Detective Superintendent Uckfield.  Horton is also often in conflict with his abrasive boss, Detective Chief Inspector Lorraine Bliss.

The Inspector Andy Horton novels in order then with the first in the series listed at the top, are:

Tide of Death
Deadly Waters
The Suffocating Sea
Dead Man's Wharf
Blood on the Sand
Footsteps on the Shore
A Killing Coast
Death Lies Beneath
Death Surge  
Shroud of Evil (2014)
Fatal Catch (2015)
Lethal Waves (2016)

If you enjoy Inspector Andy Horton you might like the Art Marvik Mystery series.

An Art Marvik  Mystery

"Fans of Rowson’s DI Andy Horton books will be delighted with her new series featuring former marine commando Art Marvik.A tense, terrifying thrill ride that twists and turns with dizzying speed, combined with a likable, smart, tough, but all too human hero, make this a cracking-good new series—action fans need Marvik on their radar." Booklist

No comments:

New 1950 set crime novel by Pauline Rowson to be published in 2019

I'm delighted to announce that Death in the Cove, a 1950 set crime novel is to be published in 2019. The historical crime novel, the fi...