Crime author Pauline Rowson addresses audience at Creative Portsmouth event

I was delighted to be a keynote speaker at the Creative Portsmouth Collaborative event on 31 January 2019, which turned out to be a very interesting and successful event bringing together talented individuals from the world of art, literature, photography, film, design and more from all over the city of Portsmouth.



I was there to talk about my crime novels set in Portsmouth and the surrounding area featuring the rugged and flawed DI Andy Horton, what inspires me to create the varied and multi-layered plots and also what inspired me to become an author.  The latter was the discovery of a small local library in my home town of Portsmouth - the Alderman Lacy Library - at the age of eight which gave me a life long passion for reading and for writing.



 The event was introduced by Cllr Steve Pitt, Cabinet Member for Culture Leisure and Sport at Portsmouth City Council and was facilitated by Benjamin Clabon who introduced the keynote speakers: myself, James Sharp, Director/ Film Maker at Sharp Film; Professor Trevor Keeble, Dean of Creative and Cultural Industries at Portsmouth University, and Mark Graeme of ilovedust.

Music during the networking break was provided by James Tattington, Fugitive Orchestra. While throughout the morning event artist Emma Paxton of Imagistic drew the graffiti wall and cultural skyline, making sure that the locations of the  DI Andy Horton  novels formed part of it.




Caricatures were drawn by Steve Acheson and presented to the speakers at the end of the event. From left to right: Mark Graham, James Sharp, Pauline Rowson, Councillor Steve Pitt and Professor Trevor Keeble.



It was great to meet so many talented people at the event and to hear how they had forged their careers. Portsmouth is a very vibrant waterfront city and has thriving creative community as well as a great literary tradition. I'm keen to hear how those present, with the help of Portsmouth City Council and other organisations, can develop  greater collaborative working, bringing other creative people into the fold including musicians and writers.'



Dead Passage the latest in the DI Andy Horton series (14) was published in October 2018. It is set in Portsmouth and is available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo.  It can also be loaned from libraries in the UK, Commonwealth and the USA.

A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine





No comments:

Footsteps on the Shore a DI Andy Horton crime novel - watch the video book trailer

DI Andy Horton crime novel FOOTSTEPS ON THE SHORE hailed as' a detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey,' has been re-l...