Murder at Mayfair with Central Bournemouth Probus

OK so it's not the name of my new mystery and it's not in London but at an hotel in Bournemouth on the south coast of England where I was delighted to entertain members of  Central Bournemouth Probus Club on Tuesday 19 November.



Bournemouth Central Probus, Pauline Rowson how she writes her mystery crime novels

I talked about my fictional sleuths, the flawed and rugged DI Andy Horton, whose patch is Portsmouth, and who features in 14 crime novels; my undercover investigator, Art Marvik a former Royal Marine Commando in 3 mystery thrillers, and my new fictional sleuth, Scotland Yard detective, Inspector Ryga who is introduced in the first of a new 1950 set mystery series, DEATH IN THE COVE.

Bournemouth Central Probus Pauline Rowson talking about her 1950 mystery DEATH IN THE COVE



I explained how I come up with ideas for my crime novels of which there are now twenty and how I turn these ideas into multi-layered plots full of twists and turns, clues and Red Herrings, of course.

I also told the audience how I develop my plots by creating a storyboard; how I create the characters using spider grams and how I research the police procedure and the forensic aspects of the novels drawing on not only the Internet but the many police and forensic experts I know.

Bournemouth Central Probus Pauline Rowson demonstrating how she develops characters and plot lines

Following my talk, as always,  there was a lively question and answer session and a book signing.  It was a great pleasure to meet everyone.


DEAD PASSAGE is the latest Inspector Andy Horton mystery to be published, number 14 in the series. Available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo.


A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine









Lost Voyage is the latest Art Marvik mystery thriller, number 3 in the series. Published in hardcover, paperback, and e book.

Marvik faces a desperate battle to save others from a ruthless assassin who will stop at nothing in order to protect the secret of the Mary Jo’s last voyage from ever being exposed


 "Plenty of action, I didn't want to put the book down. A good read for mystery/ thriller fans." Net Galley






 

DEATH IN THE COVE is set on Portland Island, Dorset published in paperback, as an e book, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo and as an audio book.

England 1950, a country still struggling to come to terms with peace in the grip of austerity and rationing.

When the body of a man dressed in a pinstriped suit is discovered by war photographer, Eva Paisley, in a secluded bay on Portland Island, Dorset, Inspector Alun Ryga of Scotland Yard is sent to investigate.  Recently promoted, the thoughtful, observant Ryga, is on his first solo investigation outside of London, and is keen to prove his worth. Ignoring the warnings of the local police inspector, and the Dorset Chief Constable, that his trust in Eva Paisley is misjudged, Ryga quickly realises that her observations could provide the breakthrough he needs in a complex murder investigation and the answer to the haunting circumstances that have sent the man in the pinstriped suit to his death.


No comments:

Unravel a mystery for Christmas - tantalising crime mystery fiction by Pauline Rowson

Our Christmas campaign has kicked off, why not unravel a mystery at Christmas! There are plenty to choose from full of twists and turn...