Thursday, 14 May 2020

About DI Andy Horton - "An especially good series hero." Booklist

Andy Horton is an instinctive rather than an intellectual cop with a highly formed sense of justice. Raised in a succession of children's homes he finds he can never quite trust. He is tough and resilient, but deeply empathetic. A dry sense of humour is the key to his investigative approach. It’s how he keeps people at arm’s length and stays detached from the crimes he investigates. His greatest strength is his ability to put himself in a victim’s shoes, to imagine events from their perspective (even the moments up to their death), making leaps of deduction few would be able to. And he’s most often right.

Horton is especially tough on bullies, or people who abuse their power or position, as they remind him of those in the children’s homes. He feels a duty of care to the victims of the crimes he investigates and often feels he’s the only person looking out for them; the only one who can bring the guilty to justice so that the dead can rest. No one cared about him when he was a child; he won’t let that happen to anyone else.

Should the DI Andy Horton crime novels be read in order?

This is a question I am often asked and the answer is not really, not unless you wish to. In each DI Andy Horton police procedural crime novel there is a new murder mystery for the flawed and rugged Portsmouth detective to investigate but there is also the drama of his unfolding personal life and his quest to discover the truth behind his mother's disappearance (Jennifer Horton) thirty years ago.

It can never be determined which book in the series a reader might read first so in each novel I need to weave in Andy Horton's back story with his personal quest to find the truth behind his mother's disappearance so that the new reader can pick it up but not too much so that it bores the reader who has read the Horton series from the beginning.

Where are the DI Andy Horton crime novels set?

The Inspector Andy Horton crime novels are all set against the atmospheric backdrop of the sea in the Solent area of Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight on the South Coast of England. They have been hailed by reviewers as 'multi-layered', 'complex', 'gripping' and 'entertaining' and have been compared to the novels of Ann Cleeves, Colin Dexter, John Harvey, Peter Robinson

What is the order of the DI Andy Horton crime novels?

Tide of Death
Deadly Waters
The Suffocating Sea
Dead Man's Wharf
Blood on the Sand
Footsteps on the Shore
A Killing Coast
Death Lies Beneath
Death Surge
Shroud of Evil
Fatal Catch
Lethal Waves
Dead Passage
A Deadly Wake (published 2 June 2020)

Coming Soon - June 2020 the NEW Inspector Andy Horton Mystery. Pre-order your copy 


A Deadly Wake a DI Andy Horton MysteryNumber 15 in the DI Andy Horton series set against the backdrop of the sea on the South Coast of England in Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight

As DI Andy Horton follows the trail of a man found dead in a log cabin on the Isle of Wight, he uncovers some startling revelations into his own mother’s past and the truth behind her disappearance over thirty years ago.

Published in paperback, ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo 2 June 2020 - available to pre-order on line and from all booksellers

The Inspector Andy Horton crime novels are available in paperbacks, as ebooks, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo, as unabridged audio books and in large print. They can purchased from any bookshop and on line and are available for loan in libraries in the UK, USA and Commonwealth.

No comments:

What's on in June 2020

June kicks off with the publication of the crime novel I know many DI Andy Horton fans have been waiting for  A DEADLY WAKE, which re...