Featuring two crime novels set in March, Footsteps on the Shore and Dangerous Cargo


Two of my crime novels are set in March so I thought I would feature them over the month.  On my blog there will be extracts, location photographs and articles on the Inspector Andy Horton crime novel FOOTSTEPS ON THE SHORE, number six in the series of currently thirteen, and on the Art Marvik mystery, DANGEROUS CARGO, the second in the series currently of three.

It’s March and Inspector Andy Horton has an unusual case to solve in FOOTSTEPS ON THE SHORE.  


Friday the thirteenth begins badly for DI Andy Horton when he wakes to find his Harley has been vandalized and his boss, DCI Lorraine Bliss, has returned early from her secondment to HQ. Then, convicted murderer, Luke Felton, released on licence, is reported missing and a decomposed corpse is washed up in Portsmouth harbour. But before Horton can get a grip on either case, he’s called to a house where a woman he’d only met the day before has been brutally murdered. Is missing Luke Felton the prime suspect, or is it his body in the mud of the harbour? Horton is under pressure to get results, but things are about to get much worse for the beleaguered detective …


FOOTSTEPS ON THE SHORE has received some great reviews.

"Horton presses on to clear up a skein of crime as tangled as one of the harbour’s ancient fishing nets. Rowson’s latest should please both Andy Horton fans and puzzle aficionados. " Kirkus

'This police procedural reminded me in one aspect, of the mysteries by R.D. Wingfield, creator of Jack Frost... with all the interaction between the different detectives. A very enjoyable read.' Eurocrime

'A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey. Like Rebus, Rowson’s DI Andy Horton, if not a loose cannon, is a detective who does not always work within the rules. As with all Rowson’s novels the ending is dramatic and deeply menacing. If you are a fan of traditional detective fiction in a vivid setting that makes you believe that you are there, you will love this one.'  James Morley, Mystery People Magazine.


Marvik is on a mission to solve a fifty year old mystery in DANGEROUS CARGO

For his second mission working undercover for the National Intelligence Marine Squad, (NIMS) Marvik is detailed to attend the funeral of a man who’d officially been declared dead fifty-five years earlier. So who is the imposter and why did he assume the name of a dead man? What’s more, why did he suddenly show up in a Dorset coastal town in 1989, hook up with a local fishing family, and after fathering a child, disappear in 1990? When an innocent woman is killed during the course of the investigation, Marvik realizes that the stakes are much higher than he’d previously thought. As he begins to uncover a trail of deceit, corruption and murder that spans over half a century, Marvik must confront a ruthless killer who will stop at nothing to make sure that the sins of the past stay in the past.

'Rowson’s superhero, Art Marvik, returns in another pulse-pounding adventure. Delivering more than enough action to keep adrenaline junkies reading.' Booklist

'Marvik's second outing is even more muscular than his debut, as Rowson edges her detective puzzles ever closer to thriller territory.' Kirkus Reviews USA

"Dangerous Cargo is the sort of book where you can’t look away for a second, or you’ll be sunk, so to speak. Pauline Rowson is the queen of misdirection in this outing for former marine Art Marvik." Crime Review.

Available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and on Kobo. Footsteps on the Shore is also available in Large Print and as unabridged audio book.

All available for loan in libraries in the UK, Commonwealth and the USA.

Where to buy

Pauline Rowson's books USA

Pauline Rowson's books UK

From your local bookshop


Also available as an ebook and on Amazon Kindle, Kobo and for loan from UK, USA, Irish and Commonwealth libraries


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

What's on in August? Featured crime novels by Pauline Rowson

What's on in December

Harlequin USA buy mass market direct to consumer paperback rights to Pauline Rowson's crime novel, Fatal Catch