Over 140 people turn out to hear Pauline Rowson talking about her crime novels


I was delighted to entertain so many members of Waterlooville U3A on 22 January 2020 with tales of my fictional sleuths: the enigmatic DI Andy Horton who features in fourteen novels; undercover investigator, former Royal Marine Commando, Art Marvik who currently appears in three mystery thriller novels, and my new hero, Inspector Alun Ryga who is introduced in the first of her new 1950 set mystery series, DEATH IN THE COVE.


Huge turnout to hear Pauline Rowson talk about her crime novels

 There were well over one hundred and forty people there, in fact it was standing room only. I spoke about how locations along the south coast of England have inspired me and  provide me with the ideas for myr multi-layered, marine-set crime novels, of which there are now twenty. I talked about how I develop these ideas into fast-paced plots and how I create my characters.

Pauline Rowson talking about her crime novels

Following my talk there was a lively Q & A and a book signing.  It was a delight and pleasure to entertain the audience.

Pauline Rowson talking about how she plots and writes her crime novels


The Inspector Andy Horton police procedural series is set in Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight, DEAD PASSAGE is number fourteen in the series with number fifteen due to be published in 2020.

The Art Marvik mystery thrillers are set along the south coast of England. There are currently three in the series featuring the former Royal Marine Commando turned undercover investigator for the UK's  Marine Intelligence Squad.

I am also the author of two standalone thrillers, In Cold Daylight and In For The Kill.

And I talked about my new fictional sleuth, Inspector Ryga in my 1950 set mystery series with the first in the series DEATH IN THE COVE published in 2019 and the second to be published in Autumn 2020.

Dead Passage, available in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and also on loan from libraries.


A mysterious telephone call sends Horton on a complex and twisted investigation into the death of a local politician twelve years ago and uncovers a trail of lies, secrets and revenge with roots deep in the past.

"A detective novel in the tradition of Rankin and Harvey." Mystery People Magazine












Death in the Cove is published in paperback, as an ebook, on Amazon Kindle and Kobo and as an audio book available on Audible.

 DEATH IN THE COVE introduces Scotland Yard detective Inspector Alun Ryga, and former war photographer, Eva Paisley.

It is set in 1950s England, a country still struggling to come to terms with peace in the grip of austerity and rationing. Recently promoted to Inspector at Scotland Yard, the former Merchant Navy seaman and German prisoner-of-war is sent to the Island of Portland in Dorset to solve an unusual and baffling case, why a man wearing a pin striped suit has been found dead in the isolated Church Ope Cove.

'Don't miss this first book in what is sure to be a first-class series. Highly recommended.' Mystery People Magazine




No comments: