Focus on the flawed and rugged DI Andy Horton - a hero cop investigating crime set against the atmospheric backdrop of the Solent

Women readers often tell me they are in love with DI Andy Horton (join the queue) and men like him because he's an action guy - he's fit, fearless and forty.  Rugged and flawed Andy Horton is a maverick cop who is tough on villains and prepared to take risks in his search for justice. He's been raised in children's homes after his mother abandoned him as a child. He has a desperate need to belong and yet is always on the outside. Being alone is his greatest fear, yet he is alone.

The novels are set against the atmospheric backdrop of the sea in the Solent area on the South Coast of England. Estranged from his wife, who does her best to prevent him from seeing his eight year old daughter, Emma, Andy Horton lives alone on his yacht in Southsea Marina and rides a Harley Davidson.

Horton rarely calls for back up, though he should, he's just that the kind of cop, an action hero.  Horton is not a by-the-book typical police officer but a go-it-alone kind of guy, which reflects his upbringing and his personality.  No, it isn't true to life or how a real cop would act but then this is fiction.

His sidekick, Detective Sergeant Barny Cantelli, is a happily married family man with five kids and a wry sense of humour. His loving family background and upbringing couldn't be more different from Horton's and that's what makes them the perfect duo. Put that with Andy's boss, DCI Lorriane Bliss, an alpha female and by-the-book-copper, along with ambitious, ruthless and gruff Detective Superintendent Uckfield of the Major Crime Squad, set it against the ever changing sea, one moment light and calm, the next dark and deadly, beautiful and beguiling but deceptively dangerous, toss in a dead body or two and add Andy's quest to find the truth behind his mother's disappearance and you have the perfect recipe for an entertaining crime series!

There are now eleven in the DI Andy Horton series with the twelfth FATAL CATCH due for publication in September 2015.

The DI Andy Horton novels in order are as follows. (The third in the series, THE SUFFOCATING SEA kick starts Andy's search for the truth behind his mother's disappearance which runs as a thread throughout the remaining novels.)

Tide of Death (1)
Deadly Waters (2)
The Suffocating Sea (3)
Dead Man's Wharf (4)
Blood on the Sand (5)
Footsteps on the Shore (6)
A Killing Coast (7)
Death Lies Beneath (8)
Undercurrent (9)
Death Surge   (10)
Shroud of Evil (11)

Read more about each DI Andy Horton novel.

All the above novels are available in paperback and as ebooks, some are also available in hardcover and as audio books and in Large Print.

I enjoy writing the DI Andy Horton series and seeing the characters' lives unfold. I've already written the first draft of DI Andy Horton number 13 so a lot more yet to come.



Popular posts from this blog

Harlequin USA buy mass market direct to consumer paperback rights to Pauline Rowson's crime novel, Fatal Catch

Look who's got a taste for murder

Searching for bodies in the water - how science is helping the police