Inspector Alun Ryga 1950s set mysteries

England 1950, a country still struggling to come to terms with peace in the grip of austerity and rationing.  


'A first-class series. Highly recommended.' Mystery People Magazine


'Recommended for lovers of mysteries without gory details, a solid police procedural with interesting characters. The ending was a twist I didn't see coming.' Audible 

The 1950s set Inspector Ryga Mystery series features Scotland Yard detective, Ryga, who is sent out to investigate baffling coastal crimes. Ryga, a former German prisoner-of-war, teams up with former war photographer, Eva Paisley, in the first in the series, DEATH IN THE COVE set on the Island of Portland, Dorset, and again in DEATH IN THE HARBOUR set in Newhaven Port, East Sussex. It is a partnership set to continue and destined to solve many more a multi-layered coastal crimes.

Ryga's experience at sea, and as a prisoner-of-war, has made him unique in his approach to solving coastal based crimes.  He's observant, analytical and reflective.  He's witnessed compassion, cruelty, cowardice and heroism, mental breakdown and despair. He’s made a promise to himself that whatever happens after the war he’ll keep an open mind and never judge.

Whereas Ryga is quiet, reflective, analytical, Eva is very self-assured.  She’s forthright, sociable, and comfortable in her own skin, professional with a successful career, a formidable reputation behind her, along with a taste for danger. Her observations seen through the lens of her camera are disturbing, enlightening and thought provoking.

They make a formidable team - villains beware!

DEATH IN THE COVE is available in paperback, e book, Kindle and audio book.

DEATH IN THE HARBOUR iss available in paperback, ebook, Kindle and audio book.


Death in the Cove, an Inspector Alun Ryga 1950 crime novelDEATH IN THE COVE - Inspector Ryga Mystery (1)

When the body of a man wearing a pinstriped suit is found in a secluded bay on Portland Island, Dorset Scotland Yard detective, Inspector Alun Ryga is sent to investigate.

'Death in the Cove is a great read and one I recommend to any crime fans.' BH Living Magazine


 Read more

Death in the Harbour an Inspector Ryga mystery by Pauline Rowson

Death in the Harbour - Inspector Ryga Mystery (2)

Scotland Yard's Inspector Alun Ryga is sent to Newhaven, East Sussex to unravel the mystery of why an ordinary police constable was murdered and his wife has gone missing.

"Pure detection… a great read.” 

The Inspector Ryga Mysteries are published in paperback, ebook, Amazon Kindle, Kobo, Apple Books, Google Books and as audio books narrated by Jonathan Rhodes and published by B7 Media

Listen to an extract of DEATH IN THE COVE


'An enjoyable book, well written with a good plot and descriptive story-telling helping you to fit into the location. Death in the Cove is a great read and one I recommend to any crime fans.' BH Living Magazine


No comments: